Session Detail





Principles of Active Learning Course
Learn Basic Principles of Active Learning for Serving Students with Complex Needs



Do you work with students with the most complex needs?  Are you looking for the best-practice instructional approach, activities, and strategies?  If yes... join in a collaboration of:

  • 6 Regional ESCs
  • Life skills classroom personnel:  teachers, paraprofessionals
  • TVI, OT, PT, Speech

This TEA-approved Principles of Active Learning Course includes modules that participants view independently during due-by windows and four 1-hour Zoom meetings during which ideas and videos will be shared.

For more information, contact your Regional ESC Consultant as follows:

  • Region 9 Tricia Marsh tricia.marsh@esc9.net
  • Region 14 Brenda Lee blee@esc14.net Linda Moran lmoran@esc14.net
  • Region 15 Pam Yarbrough pam.yarbrough@esc15.net
  • Region 16 Winston Smith winston.smith@esc16.net Beth Waddell beth.waddell@esc16.net
  • Region 17 Deanne Goen deannegoen@esc17.net
  • Region 18 Margaret Lehr mlehr@esc18.net

Important Session Information:


This Principles of Active Learning Course is for all educators and specialists who serve students with the most complex needs.  Participants will learn the basic principles of Active Learning, the best-practice instructional approach for working with students who have multiple disabilities including significant cognitive disabilities, and sensory impairments, regardless of their chronological age.
Participants will independently view course modules following due-by dates, attend four 1-hour Zoom meetings to discuss content, share ideas, and view how-to videos of Active Learning, and pass a course assessment.  Successful completion of this course earns 12 CEU / CPE / ACVREP credits.

T-TESS/T-PESS:
Dimension 1.4: Activities, Dimension 2.3: Communication, Dimension 2.4: Differentiation, Dimension 3.1: Classroom Environment, Routines and Procedures, Dimension 4.3: Professional Development


Registration ends at 12:00 AM on Friday, March 5, 2021

Session ID:
793294
Credits Available:
(12) CPE
(12) Other
Recommended Event Titles
Active Learning
1 session
Seats Available:
90
Fee:
$0.00 (* No Charge)
Contact Person:
Evelyn Gilson
Instructor(s):
Deanne Goen
Audience:
New Teacher, Occupational Therapist, ParaEducator/Paraprofessional, Physical Therapist, Special Education Director, Special Education Teacher, Speech Language Pathologist, Speech Therapist
 
Date Time Location
2/8/2021 8:00 AM - 8:15 AM Other
2/23/2021 3:30 PM - 4:30 PM Region 17 ESC - Zoom
3/23/2021 3:30 PM - 4:30 PM Region 17 ESC - Zoom
4/20/2021 3:30 PM - 4:30 PM Region 17 ESC - Zoom
5/11/2021 3:30 PM - 4:30 PM Region 17 ESC - Zoom
We are passionately committed to developing and nurturing healthy, thriving learning communities across Region 17 by guiding and supporting schools in their quest for excellence.

Get in Touch

Region 17 Education Service Center
1111 West Loop 289 | Lubbock, TX 79416
Voice: 806-792-4000 | Fax: 806-792-1523

Business Hours: Monday - Friday | 8:00 am - 5:00 pm

Per HB 462, resources and services provided by Region 17 ESC are solely aligned with, and designed to support, the Texas Essential Knowledge and Skills (TEKS) adopted by the State Board of Education.

Powered by escWorks Logo